RPG Roundtable
A Forum for Tabletop Roleplayers

Calendar   Search      Help    Register    Login    Home
Home » The Art of Gaming » Game Systems » Pathfinder » vicious non lethal weapons
vicious non lethal weapons [message #701] Tue, 02 November 2010 14:39 Go to next message
Dragonsong is currently offline Dragonsong
Messages: 192
Registered: June 2009
Location: Boulder CO
Senior Member
the vicious weapon quality is in the Core book on pg 472.

My question(s)

Is the additional damage to both parties non-lethal if the weapon does non-lethal to begin with (sap, whip, etc.)?

If the damage IS lethal does this mean that a whip would still do the viscious damage to a creature with an Armor Bonus of 1+, or a Natural Armor of 3+, even if it deals no damage from the weapon itself?
Re: vicious non lethal weapons [message #702] Wed, 03 November 2010 08:21 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dragonsong is currently offline Dragonsong
Messages: 192
Registered: June 2009
Location: Boulder CO
Senior Member
This is the only response I have gotten about this question at the paizo boards and my follow up question to it.

Quote:
Quote:
Well, flaming, corrosive and shock and what not would do lethal damage.I would assume that the vicious works the same way it reads in that it deals it's regular damage which is non lethal and a extra 2d6 which is also non lethal.

See that is my concern it says it "This energy deals an extra 2d6 points of damage to the opponent and 1d6 points of damage to the wielder." It doesn't say 2d6 of damage appropriate to the weapon type or any other type. Vicious, unlike merciful, doesn't even say the weapon inflicts the damage only that a successful strike produces the "flash of energy" that inflicts the damage.


Non-typed damage is usually read as lethal, correct? Does it count as non-typed energy damage therefore is not subject to DR or energy resistances?
Re: vicious non lethal weapons [message #704] Wed, 03 November 2010 20:31 Go to previous message
like_a_god is currently offline like_a_god
Messages: 541
Registered: May 2009
Location: Boulder CO
Senior Member
Administrator

"Dragonsong"
Non-typed damage is usually read as lethal, correct? Does it count as non-typed energy damage therefore is not subject to DR or energy resistances?


First, I do believe that non-typed damage is assumed to be lethal. The writers seem to go out of their way to declare when something is non-lethal or subdual.

Secondly, make sure to consider the source of the non-typed energy damage. If it's a spell or spell-like ability I think it also needs to overcome SR. But, in this specific case, I'm not sure that's much of a concern.

like_a_god
Previous Topic:APG FAQ is up
Next Topic:Dragonsong's Pathfinder Character Sheet
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Thu Nov 23 07:43:47 MST 2017

Total time taken to generate the page: 0.08496 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.

Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.2.
Copyright ©2001-2010 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software